Tobacco control sector information

This page has contact details for the organisations in the tobacco control sector.

On this page

The tobacco control sector has a diverse range of stakeholders, and each has an essential role to play to help achieve Smokefree 2025. Click below for contact information about national agencies, non-government agencies, training services and District Health Boards.

Regional / local stop smoking services

Service Coverage (DHB) Area Lead Stop Smoking Service Provider Stop Smoking Service Partners
Auckland / Waitematā ProCare Health Limited

- The Fono
- Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei Health

Bay of Plenty Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance

- Ngā Mataapuna Ōranga PHO

Counties Manukau Counties Manukau District Health Board  
Hawkes Bay Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga - Te Kupenga Hauora Ahuriri
- Choices Kahungunu Health
- Hawkes Bay DHB
Wellington Takiri Mai te Ata Whanau Ora Collective - Whaiora Whanui Trust
- Tu Kotahi Maori Asthma Trust
- Nāku Ēnei Tamariki Inc (Māori Section)
- Mana Wahine Inc
- Whai Oranga o te Iwi Health Centre
- Kokiri Marae Health and Social Services
Lakes Manaaki Ora Trust - Tipu Ora  
MidCentral Te Wakahuia Manawatu Trust - BestCare Whakapai Hauora Charitable Trust
- Rangitāne ki tamaki nui a rua - Te Kete Hauora
- Te Runanga o Raukawa
- Te Puna Hauora
- Central PHO
- Muapoko Tribal Authority
Nelson / Marlborough Nelson Marlborough District Health Board   
Northland Northland District Health Board

Te Hauora o Te Hiku o Te Ika (Far North Kaitaia)
Ngati Hine Health Trust (East Mid North South Whangarei)
Hokianga Health Enterprise Trust (Hokianga)
Whangaroa Health Services Trust (Te Rūnanga o Whaingaroa) (Kaeo Wes Mid North)
Te Hau Ora o Ngāpuhi (Kaihoke West Mid North)
Te Hā Oranga Kaipara (Te Runanga O Ngati Whatua) (Kaipara)
Ki A Ora Ngatiawa (North Whangarei)

Southern Nga Kete Matauranga Pounamu Charitable Trust  
South Canterbury South Canterbury District Health Board  
Taranaki Tui Ora Limited  
Waikato and Tairawhiti Midlands Regional Health Network Charitable Trust - Te Hauora o Turanganui a Kiwa Ltd
- K'aute Pacifika Trust
Whanganui Whanganui Regional Health Network Whanganui District Health Board
- Taihape Health
West Coast / Canterbury Canterbury District Health Board (Community and Public Health) - Oranga Hā - Tai Poutini: Stop Smoking West Coast

National Agencies

The Ministry of Health is the key agency for policy development in the tobacco control area and is involved in a large number of policy, service development and operational aspects of tobacco control.

The Health Promotion Agency (HPA) leads and delivers programmes that inspire New Zealander’s to lead healthier lives. In terms of tobacco control, HPA leads national mass media activities including Stop Before You Start and is involved in a range of national and regional interventions and resource-provision to support the smokefree goal. HPA is responsible for a range of national surveys and develops fact sheets on a range topics including public support and awareness and hosts the Tobacco Control Data Repository.

Hāpai Te Hauora are charged with the Tobacco Control Advocacy Service for all communities, being Māori, Pacifika, Asian and General (Main stream) population groupings, with a focus on addressing the populations with the highest needs.

ASPIRE2025 is a partnership between major New Zealand research groups who are carrying out tobacco control research and strengthens existing collaborations by bringing together leading researchers and health agencies in New Zealand. 

Health Promoting Schools is a school community-led development (funded by the Ministry of Health) where facilitators support school communities to identify their strengths and address their health, wellbeing and education priorities. 

Non-Government Agencies

Action on Smoking and Health New Zealand (ASH) produces and collects sound evidence to enable policy makers and communities to contribute to a Smokefree New Zealand. 

Tala Pasifika represents a movement for Pacific peoples to live healthy and smokefree lives.

The Cancer Society promotes a smokefree New Zealand through policy and advocacy by regional health promoters throughout New Zealand.

The Heart Foundation is involved in a range of health promotion activities that target the risk factors for heart disease including smoking. The Heart Foundation has regional offices with local coordinators who have varying roles in tobacco control.

Smokefree Nurses is a non-profit advocacy group which supports nurses in their vital role of helping clients and patients quit smoking.

Whakawhetū is a national kaupapa Māori programme dedicated to Mokopuna Ora and reducing the rate of SUDI (Sudden Unexpected Death in Infancy) for Māori. 

District Health Boards / Public Health Services

District health boards are responsible for providing or funding health services in their district. Each DHB has a tobacco control contract with the Ministry of Health that requires them to lead, coordinate and develop tobacco control activities. Each DHB has developed a tobacco control plan that describes what they will be working on to help achieve Smokefree Aotearoa 2025.

Regional public health services including tobacco control activities are delivered by 12 DHB-owned public health units.

Training Services

Inspiring Limited is a training provider who offers the Stop Smoking Practitioners’ Programme, which is made up of a mixture of remote and face-to-face learning.

The National Training Service Alliance was establish to maintain a national standard in tobacco control treatment and practice. A range of courses are being developed and standardised, find out more about what is available.

Stop smoking practitioner training is provided by the Heart Foundation to health care workers.

Page last updated: 19 May 2017